The Start of A New Life

日本語

When I stepped off the plane on March 18th having successfully landed in Japan, I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect of my new life. I was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. Besides moving away for college, the only moving I had really done were to other parts of New York. With such a big move I couldn’t help but feel nervous, happy and excited all at the same time. This was a different kind of distance from when I went away for college. I was no longer 6 hours away from my family by car or 1 hour away by plane. This was a 13 hours , I was now over 6000 miles away.  I thought to myself “What do I do now if I’m having a hard time?” “What happens if I don’t like it here?” I quickly changed my way of thinking. This was a dream of mine, one that was finally coming true. I wanted to focus on the positives and the experiences to come. I went into my new life with an open mind and an open heart. I’m really glad that I did.

These past few months in Japan have been nothing but great. I’ve met some wonderful people that have made living in Japan a lot easier. I spend my days happy and feeling as if I belong to a community rather than feeling like an outsider. Every day i’m greeted with smiles and positive attitudes. Although there is of course a language barrier at times, everyone still tries their best to communicate with me. It’s like a fun, never ending game of charades.

There are so many positives about my big move to Japan. I love all three of the schools that I teach at, the scenery is beautiful, I like my tiny apartment, the tiny cute cars and of course the food is delicious! I’m really happy that I now have access to Takoyaki at all times. I’ve had the wonderful experience of seeing the cherry blossoms and taking part in two sports festivals.  I really hope that as these next few months go by this list only grows and grows. In fact, I’m really positive it will.


charissa

 

Written by Charissa Dobson
Read more articles by Charissa here.

One thought on “The Start of A New Life

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

